Gracie Charlie - Collection 1953-62 (2CD) (CD)

Gracie Charlie - Collection 1953-62 (2CD) (CD)


• Charlie Gracie was one of pioneers of rock ‘n’ roll, making records in that style as early as 1952 • 42-track 2-CD set comprising his A & B sides on the Cadillac, Twentieth Century, Cameo, Coral, Roulette, Felsted & President labels • Features his US No. 1 “Butterfly” and No. 8 “Fabulous” plus the UK No. 6 “Wanderin’ Eyes”. • Also includes ‘live’ performances from US and UK Tv shows and the movie “Jamboree” • Comprehensive overview of his recordings during the key era of his career
Charlie Gracie was a pioneer of rock ‘n’ roll and the first star of that era to emerge from the Italian-American community of Philadelphia, to be followed later by Frankie Avalon, Fabian, Freddy Cannon and Bobby Rydell.
He started making records in an R&B and rockabilly style as early as 1952, recording a song called “Rockin’ And Rollin’” before the term gained universal currency.
After signing to Cameo Records in 1956, he had his landmark breakthrough hits with the US No. 1 “Butterfly” and No. 8 “Fabulous” plus the UK No. 6 “Wanderin’ Eyes”.
This 42-track 2-CD set comprises his A and B sides from his early career on the Cadillac and Twientieth Century labels, and his subsequent releases on the Cameo, Coral, Roulette, Felsted and President labels.
Also included as bonus tracks are live performances from US and UK TV shows and from the movie “Jamboree”.
It naturally includes all his career chart hits. Still performing in his early ‘80s, he remains one of the artists who were in the chart vanguard of the rock ‘n’ roll era.

Available on backorder

SKU: W_32521 Categories: ,
Weight 0,1 kg
Dimensions 14,2 × 12,5 × 1 cm
Tuottaja Acrobat
Vuosi 2023

– 1 –
1. Boogie Woogie Blues
2. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
3. All Over Town
4. Rockin’ an’ Rollin
5. T’ain’t No Sin In Rhythm
6. Say What You Mean
7. My Baby Loves Me
8. Head Home, Honey!
9. Wildwood Boogie
10. Honey! Honey!
11. Butterfly
12. Ninety-Nine Ways
13. Just Lookin’
14. Fabulous
15. I Love You So Much It Hurts
16. Wanderin’ Eyes
17. Cool Baby
18. You’ve Got a Heart Like a Rock
19. Crazy Girl
20. Dressin’ Up
21. Love Bird
– 2 –
1. Trying
2. Hurry Up Buttercup
3. Doodlebug
4. Angel of Love
5. I’m a Fool, That’s Why
6. Oh-Well-A
7. Because I Love You So
8. I Look For You
9. The Race
10. Sorry For You
11. Scenery
12. W-Wow
13. Makin’ Whoopee
14. Pretty Baby
15. Night and Day U.S.A.
16. Rock the Joint
17. Tutti Frutti
18. I Love You So Much It Hurts
19. Guitar Boogie
20. Fabulous
21. Cool Baby

Lisää samalta artistilta: Gracie Charlie