Hawkins Dale - L.A., Memphis And Tyler, Texas (180 gram) (LP)

Hawkins Dale - L.A., Memphis And Tyler, Texas (180 gram) (LP)


In 1956, Dale Hawkins (1936 – 2010) wrote Suzie Q – a giant song and a classic of garage rock of the 1960s.
After his years as a musician at Chess Records (1956 – 1961), he recorded for various US labels and worked as a producer.
In 1969 he made his comeback with this album – a shock for many of his Rockabilly fans!
A crazy mixture of roots rock, blues, country and soul.
Various sessions with Texas legends Bugs Henderson and Ronnie Weiss (Mouse & The Traps), Taj Mahal, Ry Cooder, James Burton, Joe Osborne and the Memphis Horns, a.o.
Newly mastered for this exquisite 180-gram pressing with the original cover artwork.
Sure. When the name Dale Hawkins is mentioned, it is mostly associated with Suzie-Q, one of the great classics of rockabilly and garage rock of the sixties. Originally influenced by Elvis Presley and especially Scotty Moore, Hawkins later used all kinds of musical sources, from country music and blues to rock and soul. 
After his big success, Suzie-Q it became quieter around Dale Hawkins. He left Chess Records in 1961, but he vontinued to record regularly for a variety of larger and smaller labels, but appeared less in public. In the background he worked on a new career as a record producer.
At the end of the sixties and while under contract with Bell Records as a producer he developed the concept of a Roots music album. He arranged for several recording sessions in California, Texas and Tennessee. Wherever he recorded, he was accompanied by some of the best local musicians.
For his Rockabilly fans the 1969 album must have been a shock! The album still had some reminiscences of his early years, but these were overshadowed by Texas garage rock with Mouse & The Traps (featuring the great Bugs Henderson and Ronnie Weiss on guitars), the coolness of a Los Angeles production of those days, and the fantastic horn arrangements from L. A. and Memphis. ’L. A., Memphis And Tyler, Texas’ lives on the energy of the early Roots rocker, the original straight rockabilly, but adds a lot of blues and country, rock and soul – and everything in between.

2 in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: 40428 Categories: ,
Weight 0,3 kg





1. La-Memphis-
2. Heavy On My Mind
3. Joe
4. Hound Dog
5. Back Street

1. La-La La-La
2. Candy Man
3. Ruby (Don't Take Your Love To Town)
4. Baby What You Want Me To Do
5. Little Rain Cloud

Lisää samalta artistilta: Hawkins Dale