Wray Link - Link Wray Collection 1956-62 (2CD) (CD)

Wray Link - Link Wray Collection 1956-62 (2CD) (CD)


Guitarist and rockabilly singer Link Wray was one of the key cult figures in the history of rock ’n’ roll and modern rock, having pioneered the technique of using power chords on a distorted electric guitar, most notably on his landmark hit ”Rumble”, that was an essential feature of later heavy rock, punk and other styles. Pete Townshend of The Who said that: ”If it hadn’t been for Link Wray and ’Rumble’ I would have never picked up a guitar.” Of Shawnee native American parentage, he contracted tuberculosis while serving in the Korean War, losing a lung, and was told he might never sing again. However, he pursued a music career, and made rockabilly records before in 1958 recording ”Rumble”, a brooding instrumental which was banned by some radio stations for fear it would incite gang violence. It proved an inspirational for just about every teenager who picked up a guitar. He had a chequered and brief recording career with major labels, frustrated by the corporate machine, and in the early ’60s made his own records in an improvised studio. This collection comprises as many of the A & B sides of his early singles on a variety of labels as are available to include, plus the tracks from his two albums during this era not otherwise released as singles. It naturally includes ”Rumble” plus his other two chart entries ”Rawhide” and ”Jack The Ripper”. It’s a fascinating showcase for one of rock ’n’ roll’s true left-field heroes, an instinctive style icon and innovato

Available on backorder

SKU: W_16199 Categories: ,
Weight 0,1 kg
Dimensions 14,2 × 12,5 × 1 cm
Tuotekoodi ACBT3316.2
Tuottaja Acrobat
Vuosi 2019

– Disc 1 –
1 I Sez Baby
2 Johnny Bom Bonny
3 Rumble
4 The Swag
5 Raw-Hide
6 The Dixie-Doodle
7 Comanche
8 Lillian
9 Slinky
10 Rendezvous
11 Roughshod
12 Vendetta
13 Trail of the Lonesome Pine
14 Golden Strings
15 Ain’t That Lovin’ You Babe
16 Mary Ann
17 Jack the Ripper
18 The Stranger
19 El Toro
– Disc 2 –
1 Tijuana
2 Danger One Way Love
3 Hold It
4 Big City After Dark
5 Poppin’ Popeye
6 Big City Stomp
7 Caroline
8 Right Turn
9 Ramble
10 Hand Clapper
11 Radar
12 Studio Blues
13 Run, Chicken, Run
14 The Black Widow
15 Pancho Villa
16 Ace of Spades
17 Dance Contest
18 Alone
19 The Outlaw

Lisää samalta artistilta: Wray Link