0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.

0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.


Walker Billy - Whirlpool – Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight (CD)


Billy Walker’s career spanned a period of almost sixty years!
Already as a teenager he became a member of the legendary Big D Jamboree in Dallas.
In 1949 the Texan signed his first record deal with Capitol Records, two years later he landed a contract with Columbia.
From 1952 he belonged to the Louisiana Hayride and scored his first hit in 1954 with Thank You For Calling. 
Bear Family’s CD album in the popular ’Gonna Shake This Shack’ series proves that Walker was much more than just the ballad singer on the Grand Ole Opry.
We present the first fourteen years of his career, from 1949 to 1962.
Stylistically, the spectrum ranges from Texas honky-tonk, fast shuffles and Tex-Mex-style songs to rockabilly and up-beat pop.
The CD is rounded off by his early Nashville recordings, including his only number one hit, Charlie’s Shoes from 1962.
Liner notes by Dave Samuelson in the extensively illustrated booklet.

In a career stretching nearly sixty years, Billy Walker (1929-2006) charmed audiences with his lively stage presence and lilting Texas tenor. Often overlooked and underrated since his tragic death, this new entry in Bear Family’s ‘Gonna Shake This Shack’ series reveals that Walker was far more than a Grand Ole Opry balladeer. Spanning Walker’s first fourteen years on record, this set includes Texas honky-tonk, up-tempo shuffles, Tex-Mex novelties, rockabilly and upbeat pop. His early Nashville Sound hits are here, too, including his only country chart-topping Charlie’s Shoes.

3 in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: 45521 Categories: ,

Additional information

Weight 0,1 kg




01 Whirlpool
02 I'm Gonna Take My Heart Away From You
03 I Can't Keep The Girls Away
04 I Need It
05 Love's Got A Hold On Me
06 Hey!
07 You Didn't Try And Didn't Care
08 I've Got Leavin' On My Mind
09 A Woman Like You
10 Mexican Joe
11 Fifteen Hugs Past Midnight (Twenty Kisses 'Til One)
12 Alone With You
13 I Thought About You
14 Where My Baby Goes (She Goes With Me)
15 So Far
16 Headin' For Heartaches
17 Changed My Mind
18 Charlie's Shoes
19 Guess Things Happen That Way
20 Willie The Weeper
21 Let's Think About Livin'
22 Little Baggy Britches
23 You're Gonna Pay With A Broken Heart
24 It's Doggone Tough On Me
25 I've Got A New Heartache
26 Viva La Matador!
27 Gonna Find Me A Bluebird
28 Jambalaya
29 Forever
30 Throw Me Out

Walker Billy

  • Walker Billy - Mr. Heartache / I Thought About You (Käytetty 7 single/EP)

  • The Walker Way-0

    Walker Billy - The Walker Way (Käytetty LP/12)

  • Columbia Hits-0

    Walker Billy - Columbia Hits (CD)