0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.

0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.


Davis Miles - Ascenseur Pour L’Echafaud (180 gram, Coloured) (LP)


It was recorded at Le Poste Parisien Studio in Paris on December 4 and 5, 1957. The album features the musical cues for the 1958 Louis Malle film Ascenseur pour l’Échafaud.

Jean-Paul Rappeneau, a jazz fan and Malle’s assistant at the time, suggested asking Miles Davis to create the film’s soundtrack – possibly inspired by the Modern Jazz Quartet’s recording for Roger Vadim’s Sait-on jamais (Does One Ever Know), released a few months earlier in 1957.

Davis was booked to perform at the Club Saint-Germain in Paris for November 1957. Rappeneau introduced him to Malle, and Davis agreed to record the music after attending a private screening. On December 4, he brought his four sidemen to the recording studio without having had them prepare anything. Davis only gave the musicians a few rudimentary harmonic sequences he had assembled in his hotel room, and, once the plot was explained, the band improvised without any precomposed theme, while edited loops of the musically relevant film sequences were projected in the background.

The soundtrack was not released on its own in the USA but ten songs from this soundtrack were released as one side of the album Jazz Track which received a 1960 Grammy nomination for Best Jazz Performance, Solo or Small Group.

This soundtrack might also be referred to as ”Elevator to the Gallows (French: Ascenseur pour l’échafaud; previously known as Frantic in the US), also known as Lift to the Scaffold (UK)”.

1 varastossa (voidaan jälkitoimittaa)

Tuotetunnus (SKU): W_52145 Osastot: ,


Paino 0,3 kg (kilogramma)
Mitat 35 × 35 × 0,5 cm (senttimetri)
Tuottaja 20th Century Fox
Vuosi 2021

A1 Générique 2:50
A2 L’assassinat De Carala 2:11
A3 Sur L’autoroute 2:20
A4 Julien Dans L’ascenseur 2:09
A5 Florence Sur Les Champs-Élysées 2:52
A6 Dîner Au Motel 3:58
A7 Evasion De Julien 0:54
A8 Visite Du Vigile 2:06
A9 Au Bar Du Petit Bac 2:54
A10 Chez Le Photographe Du Motel 3:55
B1 On Green Dolphin Street 9:49
B2 Fran-Dance 5:49
B3 Stella By Starlight 4:43
B4 It Never Entered My Mind 4:01 (Bonus track)