Holly Buddy - Down the Line: The Rarities 2CD (CD)

Holly Buddy - Down the Line: The Rarities 2CD (CD)


”Vihdoinkin virallinen julkaisu ja loistavilla soundeilla. Hieno digipak paketti! The two-CD, 59-selection Down The Line – Rarities (Geffen/UMe), is filled with pre-fame home recordings, alternate takes, undubbed versions, and informal solo tapes. Included is a recording from when Holly was 14 years old; from Buddy & Bob; the complete undubbed ’Apartment Tapes’; outtakes and alternates of familiar recordings by Holly and The Crickets; and the undubbed ’Garage Tapes.’ In ’The Garage Tapes,’ rehearsals with the Crickets (J.I. Allison and Joe B. Mauldin) were recorded by a friend at various places, including the Holley family garage in late 1956. Buddy ripped through an array of then-current hits, from Chuck Berry’s ’Brown-Eyed Handsome Man,’ Little Richard’s ’Rip It Up,’ and Fats Domino’s ’Blue Monday,’ to Carl Perkins’ ’Blue Suede Shoes,’ Big Joe Turner’s ’Shake, Rattle & Roll,’ and Bo Diddley’s ’Bo Diddley.’ Cricket J.I Allison fondly recalls laying down some of those famous recordings. ’Many of the tunes were done just in Buddy’s garage but I remember doing a few of them like ’Bo Diddley’ and ’Brown-Eyed Handsome Man,’ way out West at Petty’s studio in Clovis, NM. The line-up was Buddy, myself on drums, Sonny Curtis on guitar and Don Guess on bass. ’The undubbed ’Apartment Tapes,’ include Buddy’s raw, pre-overdubbed versions of such popular Holly songs as ’Peggy Sue Got Married’ and ’Crying, Waiting, Hoping.’ Along with the U.S. debuts of three ’Apartment Tapes’ tracks and the undubbed ’Holly Hop’ (from the ’Garage Tapes’) that are heard on both the Memorial Collection and Down The Line – Rarities, the latter also releases for the first time anywhere three additional Buddy & Bob tracks. Throughout both retrospectives, the original recordings, shorn of the overdubbed instrumentation added in the early ’60s for belated public consumption, are musical and historical revelations. In less than two years in the national consciousness, Holly changed the sound of rock ’n’ roll. Steeped in country music, the Lubbock, Texas native soon blended in blues, R&B, and the new Elvis-fired rockabilly. The result was some of the most innovative and influential rock ’n’ roll ever recorded. Buddy Holly died on February 3, 1959, but his music lives on. CD1) (tracks 15 to 28), Recorded Holley Family Garage, late November/early December 1956, Buddy Holly (vocal-guitar); Jerry Allison (drums – all tracks; additional vocal ’Shake Rattle And Roll’ & ’Rip It Up’)”

1 varastossa (voidaan jälkitoimittaa)

Tuotetunnus (SKU): 18782 Osastot: ,
Paino 0,1 kg






  • 1. My Two-Timin' Woman
  • 2. Buddy & Bob - Footprints In the Snow
  • 3. Buddy & Bob - Flower Of My Heart (Previously Unreleased)
  • 4. Buddy & Bob - Door To My Heart (Previously Unreleased)
  • 5. Buddy & Bob - Soft Place In My Heart (Previously Unreleased)
  • 6. Buddy & Bob - Gotta Get You Near My Blues
  • 7. Buddy & Bob - I Gambled My Heart (Previously unreleased)
  • 8. Buddy & Bob - You And I Are Through
  • 9. Buddy & Bob - Down The Line
  • 10. Baby Let's Play House
  • 11. Moonlight Baby a/k/a Baby Won't You Come Out Tonight
  • 12. I Guess I Was Just A Fool
  • 13. Don't Come Back Knockin'
  • 14. Love Me
  • 15. (Buddy Holly & The Crickets - The Garage Tapes )
  • 16. Gone
  • 17. Gone (alternate take)
  • 18. Have You Ever Been Lonely (alternate take)
  • 19. Have You Ever Been Lonely
  • 20. Brown-Eyed Handsome Man
  • 21. Good Rockin' Tonight
  • 22. Rip It Up
  • 23. Blue Monday
  • 24. Honky Tonk
  • 25. Blue Suede Shoes
  • 26. Shake Rattle And Roll (partial)
  • 27. Bo Diddley
  • 28. Ain't Got No Home
  • 29. Holly Hop
  • 1. Last Night (undubbed)
  • 2. Not Fade Away (alternate overdub)
  • 3. Peggy Sue (alternate take)
  • 4. Oh Boy (undubbed)
  • 5. That's My Desire (two false starts plus undubbed master)
  • 6. Take Your Time (false start & partially undubbed take)
  • 7. Fool's Paradise (alternate take undubbed)
  • 8. Fool's Paradise (undubbed master)
  • 9. Fool's Paradise (alternate #2 undubbed)
  • 10. Think It Over (false start & rehearsal take)
  • 11. Think It Over (undubbed alternate)
  • 12. Think It Over (undubbed master)
  • 13. Love's Made A Fool Of You (undubbed)
  • 14. That'll Be The Day (greetings to Bob Thiele)
  • 15. That'll Be The Day (greetings to Murray Deustch)
  • 16. Buddy Holly - The Apartment Tapes (all undubbed)
  • 17. That's What They Say (w/fragment)
  • 18. What To Do
  • 19. Peggy Sue Got Married
  • 20. That Makes It Tough
  • 21. Crying
  • 22. Waiting
  • 23. Hoping
  • 24. Learning The Game
  • 25. Wait To The Sun Shines Nellie
  • 26. Slippin' And Slidin' (slow version #1)
  • 27. Slippin' And Slidin' (slow version #2)
  • 28. Slippin' And Slidin' (fast version)
  • 29. Buddy & Maria Elena talking in apartment
  • 30. Dearest (fragment)
  • 31. Dearest
  • 32. Untitled Instrumental (a/k/a Buddy's Guitar/listed as 'Tremolo Instrumental')
  • 33. Love Is Strange
  • 34. Smokey Joe's Café)

Lisää samalta artistilta: Holly Buddy