Various - New York City Blues (CD)

Various - New York City Blues (CD)


This release is a tie-in with the book “New York City Blues” by Larry Simon and edited by John Broven.
The compilation has a dual purpose: not only to enjoyably complement the book but also to present an overview of the New York blues scene in all its variety from the post-World War II years through its golden age into the 1960s. There is also a look at the city’s 1980s-90s revival with author Larry Simon’s Killing Floor NYC Band backing many pioneering bluesmen.
On our journey, we travel from the early Piedmont country blues of Blind Boy Fuller through to the tough street sounds of Harlem blues and R&B. New York’s hitmakers and songwriters are not forgotten, either, nor are the label owners.
A real bonus is the standout studio musicians featuring top guitarists “Wild” Jimmy Spruill and Mickey “Guitar” Baker.
The two later recordings here are first rate. ‘New York City Blues’, by guitarist Larry Dale (written by British blues author Dave C Williams) supported by Bob Gaddy (piano) and Jimmy Spruill (guitar), could easily have been cut by Harlem record man Bobby Robinson in his prime. ‘I Wanna Get High’, by veteran Rosco Gordon, shows him for the first time being backed by ska musicians in the Jamaican musical style he is acknowledged as influencing.
Other highlights include John Hammond’s version of ‘I Wish You Would’, with The Band’s Robbie Robertson playing in the same earth-shattering guitar style that contributed so much to Bob Dylan’s early ‘electric’ records; another member of rock royalty on the session is the Rolling Stones’ bass player Bill Wyman. Paul Oscher’s workout ‘Mudcat’, with Muddy Waters, is a reminder of the Brooklyn-born harmonica player’s five years with the best blues band anywhere.
This Ace CD, along with the book, will serve to bring welcome focus on the neglected New York blues scene. The well-illustrated package is enhanced by detailed notes from Simon and Broven with excellent photographs by Robert Schaffer, Val Wilmer and Paul Harris.

1 varastossa (voidaan jälkitoimittaa)

Tuotetunnus (SKU): W_48923 Osastot: ,
Paino 0,1 kg
Mitat 14,2 × 12,5 × 1 cm
Tuotekoodi CDTOP 1618
Tuottaja Ace
Vuosi 2022

1 New York City Blues – Larry Dale & the Houserockers
2 Step It Up and Go – Blind Boy Fuller
3 Drinkin’ Wine, Spo-Dee-O-Dee –
4 ”Stick” McGhee & His Buddies
5 The Guy with a ”45” – Allen Bunn & Trio
6 My Fault #2 – Brownie McGhee
7 Goodbye Kansas City – Wilbert Harrison
8 Bad Blood – Champion Jack Dupree
9 Stormy Monday Blues – Bob Gaddy
10 Kansas City March – Wild Jimmy Spruill
11 Say No to the Devil – Reverend Gary Davis
12 Four Women Blues – Larry Johnson & Hank Adkins
13 Idle Hours – Lonnie Johnson with Victoria Spivey
14 Chicken Hop – Billy Bland
15 Mambo Baby – Ruth Brown & Her Rhythmakers
16 Boogie Woogie Country Girl – Joe Turner
17 I Still Love You – Buddy & Ella Johnson
18 Honey Baby – Dave ”Baby” Cortez
19 Hard Times (The Slop) –
20 Noble ”Thin Man” Watts & His Rhythm Sparks
21 Believe Me, Darling – June Bateman
22 Security – Tarheel Slim & Little Ann
23 Jack, That Cat Was Clean – Dr Horse
24 Mudcat – Muddy Waters with Paul Oscher
25 I Wish You Would – John Hammond
26 I Wanna Get High – Rosco Gordon
27 Honky Tonk (Part 1) – Bill Doggett
28 Honky Tonk (Part 2) – Bill Doggett

Lisää samalta artistilta: Various