0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.

0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.


Lightnin` Slim - Nothing But The Devil (CD)


”The father of”swamp blue”(that distinctive down-home-but-echo-laden-electric blues from Louisiana). Lightnin’ Slim’s songs boast lazy, indolent vocals; spidery, spooky guitar work (often played on the guitar’s bass strings); a compelling, chugging rhythm; and a drum sound that shifts skillfully from light percussion to a sledgehammer blues beat. More than any other Louisiana blues artist, Slim kept his ear open in the 1950s to the sounds going on ’up north’, particularly those by Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf and Sonny Boy Williamson on the Chicago blues scene (who were all, of course, originally from the South).These sides recorded for the Excello label in the 1950s and 1960s, include single releases, album tracks, alternate takes of old favourites (It’s Mighty Crazy, Rooster Blues, My Starter Won’t Work, I’m Leavin’ You Baby and Sweet Little Woman) and previously unissued sides (I Gonna Leave, Driftin Blues and the last three of the afore-mentioned alternate takes). The excellent little groups that back Slim include in their ranks the great Louisiana harmonica player Lazy Lester (he of I’m A Lover Not A Fighter fame). The various mood changes embrace the juke joint toughness of Lightnin’s Troubles (a variation of Lightnin’ Slim’s Boogie), the brooding Howlin’ Wolf-inspired country blues of I’m Leavin’ You Baby and the stop-time up-tempo style of Long Leanie Mama.Collectors note: This series of Lightnin’ Slim CDs includes one take, occasionally two, of every Slim recording known to have been sent to Excello. These takes include all the single masters, many of which are not widely known to today’s blues listeners.”

Varasto loppu

Tuotetunnus (SKU): 2975 Osastot: ,


Paino 0,1 kg (kilogramma)






  • 1. Long Leanie Mama
  • 2. My Starter Won't Work
  • 3. Rub-A-Dub
  • 4. Blues At Night
  • 5. I'm Leavin' You Baby
  • 6. Feelin' Awful Blue
  • 7. Sweet Little Woman
  • 8. Lightnin's Troubles
  • 9. I Gonna Leave
  • 10. Rooster Blues
  • 11. G I Slim
  • 12. Drifting Blues
  • 13. Too Close Blues
  • 14. My Little Angel Child
  • 15. Greyhound Blues
  • 16. I Don't Know
  • 17. Somebody Knockin'
  • 18. Just A Lonely Stranger
  • 19. Cool Down Baby
  • 20. Nothin' But The Devil
  • 21. Goin' Away Blues
  • 22. I'm Tired Waitin' Baby
  • 23. Death Valley Blues
  • 24. Hello Mary Lee

Lightnin` Slim

  • Lightnin` Slim - Rooster Blues (LP)

  • Rooster Blues + 2 bonus (180 gram)-0

    Lightnin` Slim - Rooster Blues + 2 bonus (180 gram) (LP)

  • Rock Me Mama-0

    Lightnin` Slim - Rock Me Mama (10``LP)

  • London Gumbo -0

    Lightnin` Slim - London Gumbo (Käytetty LP/12)

  • I`m a Rolling Stone - Louisiana Swamp Blues - The Singles As & Bs 1954-1962 Centenary Edition 2CD-0

    Lightnin` Slim - I`m a Rolling Stone – Louisiana Swamp Blues – The Singles As & Bs 1954-1962 Centenary Edition 2CD (CD)

  • Winter Time Blues-The Later Excello Sessions-0

    Lightnin` Slim - Winter Time Blues-The Later Excello Sessions (CD)

  • Rooster Blues/Bell Ringer-0

    Lightnin` Slim - Rooster Blues/Bell Ringer (CD)