0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.

0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.


Milton Roy - Rocks (CD)


1-CD (Digipak) with 36-page booklet, 31 tracks. Total playing time aprox. 78 min.

A brimful CD compilation dedicated to the important R&B pioneer Roy Milton in the continuously updated ‘Rocks’ series on Bear Family Records®.
Milton is considered one of the originators of the jump blues genre on the U.S. West Coast.
The album features his rockin’est, fast numbers recorded with his great band between 1946 and ‘63 for such record labels as Specialty, DooTone, King, Warwick, Cenco and Thunderbird.
Musical highlights include Red Light, Milton’s Boogie, Hop, Skip And Jump, Junior Jives, You Got Me Reeling And Rocking and Rocking Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu.
His 1955 Specialty single What Can I Do is reissued here for the first time on CD.
Johnny ’Junior’ Rogers, Roy Gaines and Roy Montrell are three of the outstanding guitarists.
Expertly narrated by Bill Dahl, plus lots of photos and illustrations in the substantial booklet and recordings carefully remastered for this edition.

Any comprehensive list of postwar rhythm and blues pioneers has to position Roy Milton and his band, The Solid Senders, right near its top. The Los Angeles-based Milton was a rock-solid drummer whose rich, full-bodied vocals were perfect for the swinging stormers that comprise Bear Family’s ‘Roy Milton Rocks.’

His combo, anchored by Camille Howard’s rippling boogie piano and accentuated by a punchy small horn section (and as time went by, Johnny ‘Junior’ Rogers’ dazzling guitar work), helped define the jump blues genre, which in turn provided an indelible blueprint for the first wave of rock and roll.

This compilation spans the band’s incredible career from their early days of recording in L.A. with the madly jumping Red Light to their hitmaking heyday on Specialty Records (Milton’s Boogie, Hop, Skip, And Jump, Oh Babe!, and the jaw-dropping Rogers-led instrumentals Junior Jives and Junior Jumps are among the highlights) through his mid-‘50s hookups with DooTone (Fools Are Getting Scarcer, You Got Me Reeling And Rocking, and two killers with his wife Mickey Champion fronting, the scorching Bam-A-Lam and a swaggering I’m A Woman) and King (the instrumental Succotash and Roy’s cover of Huey Smith and The Clowns’ Rocking Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu) and his later waxings for Warwick, Cenco, and Thunderbird.

A plethora of additional heavyweights passed through The Solid Senders-saxists Buddy Floyd, Jackie Kelso, and Eddie Taylor, guitarists Roy Montrell and Roy Gaines, bassist Dallas Bartley – but Milton was the primary focal point, a visionary early R&B architect who deserves a considerably higher profile in the annals of music history.

4 varastossa (voidaan jälkitoimittaa)

Tuotetunnus (SKU): W_91396 Osastot: , , ,


Paino 0,1 kg (kilogramma)
Mitat 14,2 × 12,5 × 1 cm (senttimetri)
Tuotekoodi BCD17712
Tuottaja Bear Family
Vuosi 2023

01 You Got Me Reeling And Rocking
02 Wakin’ Up Baby
03 Oh Babe Roy Milton
04 Hop, Skip And Jump (Cenco version)
05 Succotash
06 My Blue Heaven
07 Baby Don’t Do That To Me
08 Little Boy Blue
09 I Want To Go Home
10 Rocking Pnemonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu
11 That’s The One For Me (feat. Camille Howard)
12 Baby Don’t You Know
13 It’s Later Than You Think
14 Bam–A-Lam (feat. Mickey Champion)
15 Junior Jumps
16 One Zippy Zam
17 Train Blues
18 Milton’s Boogie
19 Fools Are Getting Scarcer
20 Tell It Like It Is
21 A Bird In The Hand
22 Red Light
23 Hop, Skip And Jump (Specialty)
24 I’m A Woman (feat. Mickey Champion)
25 Big Fat Mama
26 Playboy Blues
27 Junior Jives
28 Driveway Blues
29 When I Grow Too Old To Dream
30 Baby I’m Gone
31 What Can I Do

Milton Roy

  • Milton Roy - R.M. Blues (Käytetty LP/12)