0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.

0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.


Joy Benny - Rocks (CD)


1-CD Digipak with 36-page booklet, 30 tracks. Total playing time approx. 79 min.

Bear Family Records® dedicates a CD album in its popular Rocks series to Benny Joy.
For the first time ever, this R’n’R compilation combines his outstanding 1950s singles with a multitude of fantastic rocking band demos first released in the ’70s and ’80s!
In addition to classics like Miss Bobby Sox, Crash The Party, Spin The Bottle, Button Nose, Rollin’ The Juke Box Rock and Little Red Book, Bear Family also provides lesser-known gems like Wild Wild Lover, Gossip, Gossip, Gossip, I’m Gonna Move, Love Zone, two instrumental rockers Money, Money and Rebel Rock and and and …!
Carefully remastered edition; the beautifully illustrated booklet contains detailed liner notes by Roland Heinrich.

Benny Joy, who was born on November 5, 1935 in Atlanta, Georgia and whose real name was Benjamin Eidson, was an American rock & roll and rockabilly singer who released singles for Tri-Dec, Dixie, Antler, Ram and Decca during his music career. In 1958, Joy managed to be one of the first rockabilly singers to be part of a European tour, alongside the Platters, Barry DeVorzon and numerous other artists. The tour went through Italy, France and Germany, among other countries.

Benny Joy unfortunately failed to achieve commercial musical success and his singles are highly sought after in collector circles today, but he did have success as a songwriter under his civil name Benny Eidson and wrote songs for Marty Robbins, Jackie Wilson, Charlie Rich, Johnny Cash and Carl Smith, among others – and quite successfully!

With the rock & roll and rockabilly revival of the 1970s and 1980s, his recordings were made available to the rock & roll public and hit like a bomb!

Bear Family Records® focuses primarily on the rare demo recordings from 1957/’58 unearthed by Cees Kloop and White Label from the 1970s onwards, which are of incredibly good quality and recorded with a full band.

Benny Joy died of cancer in October 1988 at the age of 52.

2 varastossa (voidaan jälkitoimittaa)

Tuotetunnus (SKU): W_46283 Osastot: ,


Paino 0,1 kg (kilogramma)
Mitat 14,2 × 12,5 × 1 cm (senttimetri)
Tuotekoodi BCD17645
Tuottaja Bear Family Records
Vuosi 2024

01 Crash The Party
02 I’m Gonna Move
03 Ittie Bitty Everything
04 Money, Money
05 ’Hey’ … High School Baby
06 Little Red Book
07 Gossip, Gossip, Gossip
08 Dark Angel
09 Miss Bobby Sox
10 I Need A Whole Lotta You
11 Love Zone
12 Nosey, Nosey Neighbours
13 Cold Cold Woman
14 Spin The Bottle
15 (What’ll I Do) Call The Zoo
16 Rebel Rock
17 Little Girl, Little Girl
18 Rollin’ The Juke Box Rock
19 Bundle Of Love
20 Steady With Betty
21 Indian Giver
22 Talking About It
23 Touchdown
24 Crash The Party
25 Spin The Bottle (1956)
26 Button Nose
27 In Study Hall
28 Wild Wild Lover
29 I’m Doubtful Of Your Love
30 Come Back

Joy Benny

  • Joy Benny - Rockin’ And Rollin’ With (Käytetty CD)

  • More Rock-A-Billy With Benny Joy -0

    Joy Benny - More Rock-A-Billy With Benny Joy (Käytetty LP/12)

  • Joy Benny - …For Your Rockin Party (10``LP)

  • Joy Benny - Untold Stories – Rare and Unreleased Masters, Unearthed (10″LP+CD) (10``LP)

  • Joy Benny - Little Red Book 10″LP (+ Bonus CD) (10``LP)

  • Joy Benny - I’m Gonna Move / Miss Bobby Sox (Demo) (7 single/EP)

  • Spin The Bottle / Button Nose-0

    Joy Benny - Spin The Bottle / Button Nose (7 single/EP)

  • Love Zone (Vol 5)-0

    Joy Benny - Love Zone (Vol 5) (LP)

  • Wild Wild Lover (Vol 4)-0

    Joy Benny - Wild Wild Lover (Vol 4) (LP)

  • I`m Gonna Move (Vol 3)-0

    Joy Benny - I`m Gonna Move (Vol 3) (LP)