Various - Shreveport Stomp Vol 1 (CD)

Various - Shreveport Stomp Vol 1 (CD)


Ram Records was the creation of the late Mira Smith. A multi-talented musician, studio engineer and songwriter, Mira made many fine recordings both of blues and hillbilly artists. Most of them came from her home town of Shreveport, Louisiana but, occasionally, she would record musicians and singers from places further afield. Many of the performances she recorded have remained unissued until today, not because of any deficiency in the recordings or performances, many of which are very fine indeed, simply because Mira worked on an indie label shoestring and had insufficient capital to promote more than a handful of singles a year.An awful lot of good music just stayed in the vaults. With her limited budget, Mira recorded such talent as bluesman Oscar Wills, better known as TV Slim, and his Flat Foot Sam and a young rock’n’roll star Linda Brannon, whose band included a very young guitarist James Burton (later to record and tour with Elvis in the late 60s and 70s). Linda later married country supersession player Jerry Kennedy, who also features on some of the Ram recording sessions. White blues piano player Roy ’Boogie Boy’ Perkins was another find – his Drop Top (here in a previously unreleased first take) was Billboard’s Pick Of The Week in February 1958 while his rocking Ba-Da gets a general release for the first time (it was only previously available in the 70s as a hard-to-find mail-order item). Sonny Boy Williamson is here with Mailman, Mailman, though this Sonny Boy is neither No.1 nor No.2 but a guy named Jeff Williamson, a tall, thin man with golden hair who found his disc strangely credited to Sonny Boy Williamson. Capturing the melting pot of sounds that were transforming the South of the 50s and early 60s, the music on Ram features the blues as they met country music, rockabilly and western swing and they collided with R&B and cajun as it started to mutate into swamp pop. Heady music from vintage times and volume one is only the beginning!

Ei varastossa, vain jälkitoimituksena

Tuotetunnus (SKU): 1664 Osasto:
Paino 0,1 kg






  • 1. Roy Boogie Boy" Perkins - Ba Da
  • 2. Scatman Patin & The Ram Rods - Red Beans And Rice
  • 3. Margaret Lewis - Cheaters Can't Win
  • 4. T V Slim & His Heartbreakers - Flat Foot Sam
  • 5. Sonny Boy Williamson - Mailman Mailman
  • 6. Steel - Come Back Betty
  • 7. Linda Brannon - I'm Leaving
  • 8. Jimmy Bonin - Bow Wow Puppy Love
  • 9. Roy "Boogie Boy" Perkins - Drop Top
  • 10. Margaret Lewis - Reconsider Me
  • 11. Bobby Page & The Riff Raffs - Hippy-Ti-Yo
  • 12. Linda Brannon - Wherever You Are
  • 13. Grace Tennessee And The American Spirits - Pow Wow
  • 14. Elgie Brown - Let Me Feel It
  • 15. Vincent Williams - Girl In The Street
  • 16. Scatman Patin & The Ram Rods - Ginning
  • 17. Troy Webb - Baby Please Forgive Me
  • 18. Rocky Robin And The Riff Raffs - What Did You Do Last Night
  • 19. The Run-a-ways - Night Creature
  • 20. Linda Brannon - Any Way You Do
  • 21. The Lonesome Drifter - Eager Boy
  • 22. Charlotte Hunter - Lonesome Heart
  • 23. The Star Makers - El Rancho Grande Rock
  • 24. Ernest Walker - Lovers Land
  • 25. June Bug Bailey - Louisiana Twist

Lisää samalta artistilta: Various