Various - That’ll Flat Git It Vol.38 – Rockabilly & Rock ’n’ Roll From The Vaults Of Liberty and Freedom Records (CD)

Various - That’ll Flat Git It Vol.38 – Rockabilly & Rock ’n’ Roll From The Vaults Of Liberty and Freedom Records (CD)



Bear Family Records® provides with the 38th volume in the successful CD series ’That’ll Flat Git It!’ the
first comprehensive and carefully conceived showcase of the rockabilly and R&R recordings on
Liberty Records and its sub-label Freedom.
• Among the best-known Liberty and Freedom rockers were Eddie Cochran, Bobby Vee, Johnny
Burnette and Johnny Olenn.
• Our compilation also presents fellow artists like Al Casey, Bobby Lonero, Jackie Dee (who should be
more familiar to music lovers as Jackie DeShannon), or Lee Ross and Wally Lewis – lesser known, but
by no means musically any weaker!
• Carefully restored and remastered recordings.
• DeLuxe packaging with extensive liner notes by Bill Dahl and in-detail discographical information.

10 varastossa (voidaan jälkitoimittaa)

Tuotetunnus (SKU): W_42433 Osastot: ,


Liberty Records was founded in 1955 on the US West Coast as an independent label specializing in film music. In its
first year, singer Julie London delivered the fledgling label a smash hit with Cry Me A River, and a year later legendary
pianist and film composer Henry Mancini signed with Liberty. However, he left the label in 1958 and spent the next 20
years working for RCA Records.
Liberty Records offered a wide range of musical styles and produced – to the astonishment of many rockabilly and rock
’n’ roll fans – a number of excellent recordings. Eddie Cochran was the best-known and most successful rock singer on
Liberty, with hits such as Sittin’ in the Balcony (1957), Summertime Blues and C’mon Everybody, followed by Johnny
Burnette and Bobby Vee, who joined Liberty in 1960 and recorded Suzie Baby.
Moving to the well-known corporate address on Sunset Boulevard in 1958, Liberty established Freedom, an extremely
short-lived secondary label that did not survive through 1959.
For the 38th issue in our renowned ’That’ll Fat Git It!” CD series, we’ve compiled 37 recordings from the extensive
Liberty/Freedom catalog and had Bill Dahl comment on them in extensive liner notes. We’ve gone in search of the best
accessible sources and taken the utmost care in re-mastering to release the most comprehensive and highest quality
compilation to date, featuring the most rocking tracks from the Liberty catalog.

Paino 0.1 kg
Mitat 14.2 × 12.5 × 1 cm
Tuotekoodi BCD17613
Tuottaja Bear Family Records
Vuosi 2021

01 Willa Mae Al Casey
02 There’ll Never Be Another Jack C. Smith
03 Little Bit Bobby Lonero
04 Buddy Jackie Dee
05 I Ain’t Gonna Cry No More Johnny Olenn
06 Go Ahead On Jack Grayson & The So And So’s
07 Am I Blue Eddie Cochran
08 Dirty Dog Dick Banks
09 Flyin’ High Bobby Vee & The Shadows
10 You Upset Me Dinah Lee
11 You’ve Done It Again Andy & The Live Wires
12 Lies Lee Ross
13 Lover Boy Wally Lewis
14 Lovin’ Ned & Gary
15 No Dough Willie Nelson
16 Sweet Baby Doll Johnny Burnette
17 How Many Miles Steve Rowland & The Bystanders
18 Hey Baby Bill Lawrence
19 Tough Top Cat Ralph Emery
20 Twenty Flight Rock (film version) Eddie Cochran
21 Honeysuckle Rose Jack C. Smith
22 What Ya Gonna Do Galen Denny
23 What Time Is It? The Raiders, feat. Tommy Allsup
24 Sarah Lee Bob Orrison
25 She’S Gotta Shake Al Casey
26 Wee Willie Ricky Page
27 Me And The Bear Johnny Burnette
28 Billy Billy Dee Dee Dorety
29 Sally Let Your Bangs Hang Down Johnny Olenn
30 She’s So Fine Andy Caldwell
31 Little Queenie Bobby Vee & The Crickets
32 Werewolf The Frantics
33 Ain’t That Somethin’ Larry O’Keefe
34 Gonna Build A Rocket Galen Denny
35 You May Never Know Suzanne & The Band-Aides
36 Not For Love Or Money Gary Hodge
37 Party Crashin’ Davy Douglas

Lisää samalta artistilta: Various