Various - That’ll Flat Git It! Vol. 44 – Rockabilly & Rock ’n’ Roll From The Vaults Of King, Federal, Audio Lab & DeLuxe Records (CD)

Various - That’ll Flat Git It! Vol. 44 – Rockabilly & Rock ’n’ Roll From The Vaults Of King, Federal, Audio Lab & DeLuxe Records (CD)


1-CD (Digipak) with 36 page booklet, 31 tracks. Total playing time approx. 71 min.

This release in the seemingly never-ending ’That’ll Flat…Git It!’ CD-series on Bear Family Records® focuses for a second time on the rockabilly catalog of the renowned King label.

Another 31 classics from company founder Syd Nathan’s unexpectedly abundant archive from the latter half of the 1950s.
Included are Moon Mullican, Charlie Feathers and Mac Curtis, among others, plus obscure names like Cecil McNabb, Jr., Bing Day, Joe Penny or Bill Beach a.m.o.
Bill Dahl has done extensive research on the history of King Records and the rockabilly releases and artists – extensive liner notes and session details in the 36 page illustrated booklet.
Carefully remastered from the best sources and nobly packaged in digipak.

Bear Family Records®’ second ‘That’ll Flat…Git It!’ volume from the massive vaults of Cincinnati’s King Records illustrates just how spectacularly bountiful Syd Nathan’s rockabilly legacy was during the mid-to-late ‘50s.

31 classics from the bottomless King/Federal vaults range from acknowledged classics by Mac Curtis, Charlie Feathers, and Moon Mullican to beloved obscurities by Bill Beach, Joe Penny, Cecil McNabb, Jr., and Bing Day and gems from out-and-out unknowns Big Moe and The Panics and Al Henderson.

Ray Starr’s Donna Lou finds a sweet middle ground between rockabilly and R&B, and Booker Lee, Jr.’s Rockin’ Blues threatens to veer off the rails altogether through sheer exuberance.

Elvis-influenced Ronnie Speeks and His Elrods, Little Richard-style screamer Ronnie Molleen, and late-blooming Bobby Cash add to the excitement.

Nathan built an empire at 1540 Brewster Avenue, situating everything from a recording studio to a pressing plant under one expansive roof – and his rockabilly roster was unequaled anywhere outside of Sun Records.

In tandem with Volume 1 (BCD17669), this collection pays fitting tribute to King’s amazing rockabilly and rock and roll contribution.

1 varastossa (voidaan jälkitoimittaa)

Tuotetunnus (SKU): W_18935 Osastot: ,
Paino 0,1 kg (kilogramma)
Mitat 14,2 × 12,5 × 1 cm (senttimetri)
Tuotekoodi BCD17672
Tuottaja Bear Family Records
Vuosi 2023

01 Move – Boyd Bennett and His Rockets
02 Gotta Make Her Mine – Ronnie Wade
03 Granddaddy’s Rockin’ – Mac Curtis
04 Peg Pants – Bill Beach
05 Guitar Pickin’ Fool – Teddy Humphries
06 What Is Your Technique? – Ronnie Speeks and His Elrods
07 Shake, Shake – The Blue Tones
08 Bottle To The Baby – Charlie Feathers
09 Oh Baby Dance With Me – Gene Stewart
10 Goodnight Cincinnati, Good Morning Tennessee – Rusty York
11 I Want A Lover – Wes Voight & The Town Three
12 Whistle Of The Gravy Train – Bobby Grove
13 Jug Band Jump (unissued) – Delbert Barker
14 All Star Boy – Al Henderson
15 Sharpest Guy In Town – Big Moe and The Panics
16 Mercy, Mercy, Mercy – Joe Penny
17 Run Fool Run – Bobby Cash
18 Pony Tail Partner – Bing Day
19 Everybody’s Lovin’ My Baby – Charlie Feathers
20 Rockin’ Blues – Booker Lee, Jr.
21 Seven Nights To Rock – Moon Mullican
22 Oh Yeah – The Blue Tones
23 Donna Lou – Ray Starr
24 You Ain’t Treatin’ Me Right – Mac Curtis
25 Sweet Love – Rusty York
26 I’m Ready To Go Steady – Wes Voight & The Town Three
27 Rockyn Up – Ronnie Moleen
28 Rockin’ Chair Mama – Wayne Carroll
29 Jersey Rock – Zeb Turner
30 That Ain’t Nothing But Right – Mac Curtis
31 Nothing Like This – Cecil McNabb, Jr.

Lisää samalta artistilta: Various