Howlin` Wolf - The London Howlin` Wolf Sessions 2CD (CD)

Howlin` Wolf - The London Howlin` Wolf Sessions 2CD (CD)


Backstage at the Fillmore Auditorium, after a concert by the Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Electric Flag, and Cream, Chess Records staff producer Norman Dayron spotted the guitar players of the latter two bands, Mike Bloomfield and Eric Clapton, talking and joking around. Dayron approached Clapton and, on impulse, asked ”how would you like to do an album with Howlin’ Wolf?”[4] After confirming that the offer was legitimate, Clapton agreed, and Dayron set up sessions in London through the Chess organization to coordinate with Clapton’s schedule.

Clapton secured the participation of the Rolling Stones rhythm section (pianist Ian Stewart, bassist Bill Wyman and drummer Charlie Watts), while Dayron assembled further musicians, including 19-year-old harmonica prodigy Jeffrey Carp, who died shortly after these recordings.[5] Initially, Marshall Chess did not want to pay the expense for flights and accommodations to send Wolf’s long-serving guitarist Hubert Sumlin to England, but an ultimatum by Clapton mandated his presence. Sessions took place between May 2 and May 7, 1970, at Olympic Studios.[6]

On the first day, May 2, Watts and Wyman were unavailable, and a call went out for immediate replacements. Many showed up, but only recordings featuring Klaus Voormann and Ringo Starr were released from that day.[7] In the initial album credits, Starr is listed as ”Richie,”[8] as Dayron was under the impression that, being a Beatle, his name could not be used directly.[9]

Further overdubbing took place at the Chess studios in Chicago with Chess regulars Lafayette Leake on piano and Phil Upchurch on bass, and horn players Jordan Sandke, Dennis Lansing, and Joe Miller of the 43rd Street Snipers, Carp’s band.[10] Ex-Blind Faith keyboardist Steve Winwood, on tour in the United States, contributed to the overdubbing sessions as well. Although he actually plays on only five tracks for the original album, his name is featured on the cover below the Wolf’s, along with Clapton, Wyman, and Watts.

On March 4, 2003, the current owner of the Chess catalogue Universal Music Group released a two-disc Deluxe Edition of the London Sessions. Included as bonus tracks on the first disc were three performances initially released on Chess CH 60026 in February 1974, London Revisited. The second disc featured outtakes and different mixes.

1 varastossa (voidaan jälkitoimittaa)

Tuotetunnus (SKU): 11347 Osastot: ,
Paino 0,2 kg (kilogramma)





  • 1. Rockin' Daddy -
  • 2. I Ain't Superstitious -
  • 3. Sitting on Top of the World -
  • 4. Worried About My Baby -
  • 5. What a Woman! -
  • 6. Poor Boy -
  • 7. Built for Comfort -
  • 8. Who's Been Talking? -
  • 9. The Red Rooster [False Start and Dialog] -
  • 10. The Red Rooster -
  • 11. Do the Do -
  • 12. Highway 49 -
  • 13. Wang Dang Doodle -
  • 14. Goin' Down Slow [*] -
  • 15. Killing Floor [*] -
  • 16. I Want to Have a Word With You [*] -
  • 1. Worried About My Baby [Rehearsal Take][#][*] -
  • 2. The Red Rooster [Alternate Mix With Alternate Piano] [#] [*] [#][*] -
  • 3. What a Woman! (aka Commit a Crime) [Alternate Take] [#] [*] [Alternate -
  • 4. Who's Been Talking? [Alternate Take With False Start & Dialog] [#] [*] -
  • 5. Worried About My Baby [Alternate Take][#][*] -
  • 6. I Ain't Superstitious [Alternate Take][#][*] -
  • 7. Highway 49 [Alternate Take] [#] [*] [Alternate Take][#][*] -
  • 8. Do the Do [Extended Alternate Take] [#][*] -
  • 9. Poor Boy [Alternate Lyrics/Mix] [#][*] -
  • 10. I Ain't Superstitious [Alternate Mix][#][*] -
  • 11. What a Woman! (aka Commit a Crime) [Alternate Mix With Organ Overdub] [ -
  • 12. Rockin' Daddy [Alternate Mix][#][*] -

Lisää samalta artistilta: Howlin` Wolf