Hazlewood Lee - Trouble Is a Lonesome Town + Bonus 2LP (LP)

Hazlewood Lee - Trouble Is a Lonesome Town + Bonus 2LP (LP)


Todella upea tupla-albumi! Mukana ennenjulkaisematommia biisejä ja muita harvinaisuuksia.Trouble Is a Lonesome Town was Lee Hazlewood’s first proper solo album, following his prosperous late-’50s partnership with Duane Eddy and prior to his mentoring and making of ’60s boot-walker Nancy Sinatra. Hazlewood considered it a writer’s album” from which other artists could cull songs, but Trouble is a perfectly legitimate effort in its own right and characteristically wonderful Hazlewood. The songs are succinct, country-drenched cowboy ballads given a certain undeniable authority by Hazlewood’s warm, bottomless baritone, which booms out of the music like a voice amplified from the heavens. The album runs through jail songs (”Six Feet of Chain”), railroad songs (”The Railroad”), traveling songs (”Long Black Train”), and cold-hearted love songs (”Look at That Woman”) peppered with outlaws, itinerants, dead-end women, card players, and beat-down heroes, too. Between the songs, Hazlewood shows his storyteller’s gift by offering up bits of narration, and the album itself is a storyteller’s record. Trouble is like a cross between a novel full of idiosyncratic character studies (à la Faulkner) and a John Wayne Western, with Hazlewood — looking a lot like a dharma bum on the album cover, sitting on the railroad tracks with his guitar and a dangling cigarette — spinning out intricate yarns about all manner of interesting souls with names like Orville Dobkins and Emory Zickfoose Brown, all residents of the hard-scrabbled fictitious town Trouble (”nothing with a railroad running through it”), which is loosely based on his birthplace. The music is as somber and loping as such subject matter demands, mostly consisting of strummed acoustic guitars and woeful harmonica wails that weep the blues. But it is in the purposefully humorous, sympathetic, and colorful storytelling that the distinct, dead-on Americana heart of Trouble lays. [A 2013 reissue by Light in the Attic added 15 bonus tracks, including Hazlewood’s pair of singles recorded as Mark Robinson (from 1958 and 1962), his vocal on a 1960 Duane Eddy single (”Girl on Death Row”), a pair of previously unreleased tracks from 1955-56, and half a dozen tracks of ”The Lee Hazlewood Autobiography,” which originally came out on Mercury in 1964.]”

1 varastossa

Tuotetunnus (SKU): 26243 Osastot: ,
Paino 0,26 kg (kilogramma)





  • 01. Long Black Train -
  • 02. Ugly Brown -
  • 03. Son of a Gun -
  • 04. We All Make the Flowers Grow -
  • 05. Run Boy Run -
  • 06. Six Feet of Chain -
  • 07. The Railroad -
  • 08. Look at That Woman -
  • 09. Peculiar Guy -
  • 10. Trouble Is a Lonesome Town -
  • 11. It's an Actuality [#] -
  • 12. I Guess It's Love [#] -
  • 13. Fort Worth [#] -
  • 14. Pretty Jane -
  • 15. Want Me -
  • 16. The Girl on Death Row -
  • 17. Words Mean Nothing -
  • 18. Can't Let Her See Me Cry -
  • 19. I've Made Enough Mistakes Today -
  • 20. Who Is Lee Hazlewood? -
  • 21. Moved from Place of Birth -
  • 22. Girl in High School -
  • 23. In the Army -
  • 24. Disc Jockey -
  • 25. Record Biz -

Lisää samalta artistilta: Hazlewood Lee