0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.

0 Items Selected

No products in the cart.


Williamson Sonny Boy II - The Complete Trumpet, Ace & Checker Singles 1951-62 (2CD) (CD)


Blues singer and harmonica player Sonny Boy Williamson II performed originally during the 1930s and 40s as Aleck or Alex Miller, Rice Miller and Little Boy Blue before adopting the name of earlier blues artist Sonny Boy Williamson, born around the same time but who died in 1948 during the 1940s they were both using the name. For the same of avoiding confusion, its easier to refer to the artist who is the subject of this collection using the Sonny Boy Williamson II nomenclature. Like many blues performers, he came from Mississippi, but built his reputation on radio in West Memphis, Arkansas, in the late 40s, during which time he married Howlin Wolfs sister and taught him to play harmonica. Between 1951 and 1955 he released twenty-five titles on the Trumpet and Ace labels, and when Trumpet went bankrupt in 1955, and was acquired by Chess, he continued recording for the Chess subsidiary Checker label through into the 60s, becoming one of the US bluesmen who toured Europe during the 60s blues boom and influenced many future rock performers.

This great value 51-track 2-CD set comprises all his recordings released during this period on Trumpet, Ace and Checker, and includes the classic Eyesight To The Blind along with along with the Elmore James version of Dust My Broom, and the R&B hits Don’t Start Me Talkin’ and Keep It to Yourself.

It encapsulates his recordings during a key period of his career, and is an excellent showcase for his distinctive style as a blues singer, songwriter and harmonica player.

Ei varastossa, vain jälkitoimituksena

Tuotetunnus (SKU): 40633 Osastot: ,


Paino 0,1 kg (kilogramma)





Disc: 1

  1. Eyesight to the Blind
  2. Crazy About You Baby
  3. Do It If You Wanna
  4. Cool Cool Blues
  5. Stop Crying
  6. Come On Back Home
  7. I Cross My Heart
  8. West Memphis Blues
  9. Pontiac Blues
  10. Sonny Boy's Christmas Blues
  11. Dust My Broom - Sonny Boy Williamson & Elmore James
  12. Mighty Long Time
  13. Nine Below Zero
  14. Mr Down Child
  15. Stop Now Baby
  16. Too Close Together
  17. Cat Hop
  18. She Brought Life Back to the Dead
  19. Getting Out of Town
  20. Red Hot Kisses
  21. Going in Your Direction
  22. From the Bottom
  23. Empty Bedroom
  24. No Nights By Myself
  25. Boppin' With Sonny Boy

Disc: 2

  1. Don't Start Me Talkin'
  2. All My Love in Vain
  3. Let Me Explain
  4. Your Imagination
  5. Keep It to Yourself
  6. The Key (To Your Door)
  7. Fattening Frogs for Snakes
  8. I Don't Know
  9. Born Blind
  10. Ninety Nine
  11. Wake Up Baby
  12. Your Funeral and My Trial
  13. Cross My Heart
  14. Dissatisfied
  15. Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide
  16. Unseeing Eye
  17. The Goat
  18. It's Sad to Be Alone
  19. Temperature 110
  20. Lonesome Cabin
  21. Trust My Baby
  22. Too Close Together
  23. Stop Right Now
  24. The Hunt
  25. One Way Out
  26. Nine Below Zero